International Days / United Nations Days 2017




International Days

An international observance, also known as an international dedication or an international anniversary, is a period of time to observe some issue of international interest or concern. This is used to commemorate, promote and mobilize for action.

Below is a list of days, years and decades that have been recognized as international observances by the United Nations, or by some other organizations that declare international observances but are not as widely recognized.



2016    |        |    2018
DateDayDay Name
Friday, January 27, 2017 Wednesday International Day of Commemoration in Memory of the Victims of the Holocaust
Saturday, February 4, 2017 Thursday World Cancer Day
Monday, February 6, 2017 Saturday International Day of Zero Tolerance to Female Genital Mutilation
Saturday, February 11, 2017 Thursday International Day of Women and Girls in Science
Monday, February 13, 2017 Saturday World Radio Day
Monday, February 20, 2017 Saturday World Day of Social Justice
Tuesday, February 21, 2017 Sunday International Mother Language Day
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Tuesday Zero Discrimination Day
Friday, March 3, 2017 Thursday World Wildlife Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 Tuesday International Women's Day
Monday, March 20, 2017 Sunday International Day of Happiness
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 Monday International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 Monday World Poetry Day
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 Monday International Day of Nowruz
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 Monday World Down Syndrome Day
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 Monday International Day of Forests
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 Tuesday World Water Day
Thursday, March 23, 2017 Wednesday World Meteorological Day
Friday, March 24, 2017 Thursday World Tuberculosis Day
Friday, March 24, 2017 Thursday International Day for the Right to the Truth concerning Gross Human Rights Violations and for the Dignity of Victims
Saturday, March 25, 2017 Friday International Day of Remembrance of the Victims of Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade
Saturday, March 25, 2017 Friday International Day of Solidarity with Detained and Missing Staff Members
Sunday, April 2, 2017 Saturday World Autism Awareness Day
Tuesday, April 4, 2017 Monday International Day for Mine Awareness and Assistance in Mine Action
Thursday, April 6, 2017 Wednesday International Day of Sport for Development and Peace
Friday, April 7, 2017 Thursday International Day of Reflection on the Genocide in Rwanda
Friday, April 7, 2017 Thursday World Health Day
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 Tuesday International Day of Human Space Flight
Saturday, April 22, 2017 Friday International Mother Earth Day
Sunday, April 23, 2017 Saturday World Book and Copyright Day
Sunday, April 23, 2017 Saturday English Language Day
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 Monday World Malaria Day
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 Tuesday World Intellectual Property Day
Friday, April 28, 2017 Thursday World Day for Safety and Health at Work
Saturday, April 29, 2017 Friday Day of Remembrance for all Victims of Chemical Warfare
Sunday, April 30, 2017 Saturday International Jazz Day
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 Tuesday World Press Freedom Day
Monday, May 15, 2017 Sunday International Day of Families
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 Tuesday World Telecommunication and Information Society Day
Saturday, May 20, 2017 Friday "Vesak", the Day of the Full Moon
Sunday, May 21, 2017 Saturday World Day for Cultural Diversity for Dialogue and Development
Monday, May 22, 2017 Sunday International Day for Biological Diversity
Tuesday, May 23, 2017 Monday International Day to End Obstetric Fistula
Monday, May 29, 2017 Sunday International Day of UN Peacekeepers
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 Tuesday World No-Tobacco Day
Thursday, June 1, 2017 Wednesday Global Day of Parents
Sunday, June 4, 2017 Saturday International Day of Innocent Children Victims of Aggression
Monday, June 5, 2017 Sunday World Environment Day
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 Monday Russian Language Day at the UN
Thursday, June 8, 2017 Wednesday World Oceans Day
Monday, June 12, 2017 Sunday World Day Against Child Labour
Tuesday, June 13, 2017 Monday International Albinism Awareness Day
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 Tuesday World Blood Donor Day
Thursday, June 15, 2017 Wednesday World Elder Abuse Awareness Day
Saturday, June 17, 2017 Friday World Day to Combat Desertification and Drought
Monday, June 19, 2017 Sunday International Day for the Elimination of Sexual Violence in Conflict
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 Monday World Refugee Day
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 Tuesday International Day of Yoga
Friday, June 23, 2017 Thursday United Nations Public Service Day
Friday, June 23, 2017 Thursday International Widows' Day
Sunday, June 25, 2017 Saturday Day of the Seafarer
Monday, June 26, 2017 Sunday International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
Monday, June 26, 2017 Sunday United Nations International Day in Support of Victims of Torture
Tuesday, July 11, 2017 Monday World Population Day
Saturday, July 15, 2017 Friday World Youth Skills Day
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 Monday Nelson Mandela International Day
Friday, July 28, 2017 Thursday World Hepatitis Day
Sunday, July 30, 2017 Saturday International Day of Friendship
Sunday, July 30, 2017 Saturday World Day against Trafficking in Persons
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 Tuesday International Day of the World's Indigenous Peoples
Saturday, August 12, 2017 Friday International Youth Day
Saturday, August 19, 2017 Friday World Humanitarian Day
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 Tuesday International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and Its Abolition
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 Monday International Day against Nuclear Tests
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 Tuesday International Day of the Victims of Enforced Disappearances
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Monday International Day of Charity
Friday, September 8, 2017 Thursday International Literacy Day
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 Monday United Nations Day for South-South Cooperation
Friday, September 15, 2017 Thursday International Day of Democracy
Saturday, September 16, 2017 Friday International Day for the Preservation of the Ozone Layer
Thursday, September 21, 2017 Wednesday International Day of Peace
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 Monday International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 Tuesday World Tourism Day
Sunday, October 1, 2017 Saturday International Day of Older Persons
Monday, October 2, 2017 Sunday International Day of Non-Violence
Thursday, October 5, 2017 Wednesday World Teachers’ Day
Monday, October 9, 2017 Sunday World Post Day
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 Monday World Mental Health Day
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 Tuesday International Day of the Girl Child
Friday, October 13, 2017 Thursday International Day for Disaster Reduction
Sunday, October 15, 2017 Saturday International Day of Rural Women
Monday, October 16, 2017 Sunday World Food Day
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 Monday International Day for the Eradication of Poverty
Friday, October 20, 2017 Thursday World Statistics Day
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 Monday United Nations Day
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 Monday World Development Information Day
Friday, October 27, 2017 Thursday World Day for Audiovisual Heritage
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 Monday World Cities Day
Thursday, November 2, 2017 Wednesday International Day to End Impunity for Crimes against Journalists
Sunday, November 5, 2017 Saturday World Tsunami Awareness Day
Monday, November 6, 2017 Sunday International Day for Preventing the Exploitation of the Environment in War and Armed Conflict
Friday, November 10, 2017 Thursday World Science Day for Peace and Development
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 Monday World Diabetes Day
Thursday, November 16, 2017 Wednesday International Day for Tolerance
Sunday, November 19, 2017 Saturday World Toilet Day
Monday, November 20, 2017 Sunday Africa Industrialization Day
Monday, November 20, 2017 Sunday Universal Children’s Day
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 Monday World Television Day
Saturday, November 25, 2017 Friday International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 Tuesday International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People
Friday, December 1, 2017 Thursday World AIDS Day
Saturday, December 2, 2017 Friday International Day for the Abolition of Slavery
Sunday, December 3, 2017 Saturday International Day of Persons with Disabilities
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Monday International Volunteer Day for Economic and Social Development
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Monday World Soil Day
Thursday, December 7, 2017 Wednesday International Civil Aviation Day
Saturday, December 9, 2017 Friday International Day of Commemoration and Dignity of the Victims of the Crime of Genocide and of the Prevention of this Crime
Saturday, December 9, 2017 Friday International Anti-Corruption Day
Sunday, December 10, 2017 Saturday Human Rights Day
Monday, December 11, 2017 Sunday International Mountain Day
Monday, December 18, 2017 Sunday International Migrants Day
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 Tuesday International Human Solidarity Day



You might also like

Important days, holidays, observations and events.